Santana NOT going to the Yankees

Peter Gammons just came on ESPNEWS to reveal that Johan Santana has been dealt to the Mets for Kevin Mulvey, Philip Humber, Carlos Gomez and Deolis Guerra.

So those Yankees rumors are pretty much over, yes?

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Santana NOT going to the Yankees”

  1. Thunderstruck Says:

    Good – I really didn’t want them to trade Hughes. I think he is going to be a beast. I think the Mets got a great deal and the Twins got taken, I mean of the Yanks, BoSox, and Mets deal I thought the Mets one was the worst.

  2. Mike R. Says:

    I think this is really what all three teams, GM’s and fans wanted. The Red Sox and Yankees didn’t want to give up the prospects or pay the price, but at the same time they didn’t want the other to have him. He lands in Queens, the Mets are happy, their fans are happy and we’re all relieved.

    The only potential loser here is Bill Smith for grossly overplaying his hand.

  3. thunderbaseball Says:

    I think that it was a good deal when you consider what kind of franchise the Twins are — a so-called small market team that is rather notorious for not for not handing out large contracts. The players they got won’t be making big bucks for a long time.

    However, I agree in that it was probably the worst of three available deals.

    I feel pretty bad for Kevin Mulvey that he was never able to actually pitch for the Mets. His mom went into labor with Kevin while watching a Dwight Gooden start, and Mulvey was a local kid who grew up following the Mets.

    I didn’t like his personality as much as I did Humber or Mike Pelfrey, who the Twins would have been better off trying to get, but I think he just might have the biggest upside out of the three.

    All three made appearances at Waterfront Park (I saw one Humber start and two Mulvey starts, but didn’t get to see Pelfrey pitch until I went to Shea to see him a few starts into his Mets career). It’s very possible Guerra will pitch in Trenton as well, as he could join New Britain sooner rather than later.

    The Mets now have a true ace. This could be the most interesting Subway Series yet…

  4. David Mac Says:

    As a sox fan, I am glad they didn’t give up Ellsbury…and that santana is out of the league…would have been a mistake for the Yanks to give up Hughes….I still think his ceiling is higher than Joba’s..let’s see Joba put together some serious innings before we anoint him….

  5. thunderbaseball Says:

    I’m still a little disappointed I wont get to cover the inevitable Johan Santana rehab appearance at some point over the next few years…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

