Post-Game Reaction To Trade

PHIL COKE

“I don’t know jack. Whatever (Tony) said, that’s what I know. I know nothing, it’s not official. It’s been on ESPN, it’s been on the radio, but that’s all I know.”

“They pulled me out of the game, that’s kind of sort of what’s going on. I might have been on a pitch count to start the game. And then after the first inning, they’re like, ‘We can’t have you getting hurt.’ so they pulled me out.”

“I asked, and I was like, ‘What did you do? Trade me?’ And (Tony’s) like, ‘I think we did.’ And I was like, ‘Really? Man, I was just kidding. I’m sorry. Why? What did I do?’ And he said you’ve been doing what you need to be doing, that’s why. I was pretty mad about coming out of the game, I wanted to keep burying those guys.”

“I thought I had a chance at staying in this organization for the rest of my life. That’s kind of the idea that I was under. My impression of it, anyway. That I might have been here, like a lifetimer. Guess not.”

TONY FRANKLIN

“It’s everywhere. We took (Coke) out of the game. Officially, I have not been told anything. All I was told was to take him out of the game, simple as that. Officially, I have not been told that any of these guys have been traded. Officially, I have not been told who they’ve been traded for. Officially, I was not told who they were traded to. Officially, I have no official word for you other than the fact that I was told to take Coke out of the game.”

ROSS OHLENDORF (via Chad Jennings)

“I’d heard two or three days ago that I might be traded. I still don’t really know. I’ve only heard it on TV.”

“I enjoyed being here. I liked being with the Yankees. I’m sure there’ll be good opportunities there too.”

On possibly being a starter for the Pirates

“That’s something I’m looking forward to finding out.”

On his improvement during this stint in Triple-A

“I definitely feel like I improved. I feel really good about how I was throwing, especially yesterday. Even though the numbers weren’t great, I feel like I threw the ball really well.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

3 Responses to “Post-Game Reaction To Trade”

  1. ebyank Says:

    Mike,

    This deal means 2 spots open in rotation in AA, maybe we are looking at Zachary McAllister who has pitched well in Tampa and maybe Marquez coming down {now that he is ready to pitch} or Yanks bring up Ryan Pope??
    Anything you have heard on these 3 options> I think they need to make 2 moves on Saturday.

  2. thunderbaseball Says:

    Literally have not heard a thing. Have heard speculation on guys like Marquez and Alan Horne, but nothing anywhere near concrete.

  3. River Ave. Blues | Nady, Marte short-term pieces of the long-term Tabata puzzle Says:

    [...] Unless the stars align perfectly, Kontos will probably never see the Major Leagues. While Coke — disappointed with the trade — could be a potential fifth starter or long reliever, he is, in the words of Mike, “easily [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

