Russo, Jackson Excited About Arizona Fall League

At least two members of the Trenton Thunder will be playing in the Arizona Fall League this year, and there’s been rumors of a third joining them.

But for now, nothing’s been confirmed about Jeff Marquez’s participation, so all I can do is ask Kevin Russo and Austin Jackson how they feel about playing fall ball.

“It’s a good opportunity to get some more at-bats,” Russo said.

“I’ve heard of lots of guys coming out of there who are great players.  Austin’s going there, and I’ve got some friends who are heading down too.  But like I said, I’m just going to take it as getting some work in since I was out for a couple months this season.  I’m just going to play as hard as I can and try to work on the things I need to work on.”

Jackson made similar comments.

“I’m excited,” he said.

“I’ve been wanting to go there, I’ve heard good things about it.  It’s a good thing to go out there and match your talent against the other teams out there.  Russo and I will be going together, I’m looking forward to it.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

One Response to “Russo, Jackson Excited About Arizona Fall League”

  1. chris matalas Says:

    Looking forward to se AJ in the bigs soon . The Yankees need his speed in the outfield and on the bases. If the kid can perfect his stroke to the point that he hits well for average he will stick and play. The power numbers will come later for him. I would love to see him and Gardner in the outfield together giving the Yanks a kind of vacuum for anything hit in their general direction plus excellent arms and the great speed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

