Archive for October 16th, 2008

Election Day

October 16, 2008

So apparently there’s some sort of Presidential Election-type thing going on in a few weeks.  Something about The Rock versus Edwin McCain, I’m not really sure.  Perhaps I misremembered.

But what I do know, is that I’ve got three new polls for you to vote in.  I’m starting a “Fans Choice” section to my annual awards, and I want to know who you think is the Thunder’s MVP, Pitcher of the Year and Unsung Hero.

I’d like to have some other categories, but things such as “Thunder Manager of the Year” and “Thunder Thoughts Blogger of the Year” might be just as ridiculous as when “Dylon” was asked to name the five best rappers of all-time in a Chappelle’s Show sketch.

Oh, and I’ve evidently (finally) figured out how to have on-page YouTube videos on the blog.  So look for that in 2009.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

POLL: Who’s Your 2008 Thunder Unsung Hero?

October 16, 2008

In thinking about it, I don’t think I should give out an Unsung Hero Award.  As a member of the media, I can more or less determine which players I write about and which players I don’t.  So while in reality, some guys may actually fit the definition of “unsung hero,” in my own mind, I may have written about him so much that it may not feel that way to me.

So this award is in your hands, and will be recognized down the road as a “Fans Choice Award” for as long as I end up covering this team.

POLL: Who’s Your 2008 Thunder Pitcher of the Year?

October 16, 2008

Weigh in with your opinions on who you think the 2008 Thunder Pitcher of the Year should be.  A special “Fans choice” award will be recognized alongside with my choice(s).

Previous winners include:

2003 – Andy Beal
2004 – Dave Shepard
2005 – Justin Pope
2006 – Phil Hughes
2007 – Alan Horne and Scott Patterson

Note: Scott Stanchak covered the Thunder for the Democrat from 2003-2005, and I started in 2006.

POLL: Who’s Your 2008 Thunder MVP?

October 16, 2008

I know you guys have discussed this in one of the previous threads, but now WordPress has allowed me to use polls.  So I will.

Now that I actually have readers — since not too many people actually read my stuff in the Democrat, let’s be honest here — I will also recognize the fans choices for these awards alongside of my own selection.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers