Who’s Available?

Just some real quick thoughts…Thunder Thoughts, if you will…regarding who was added to the 40-man roster and who wasn’t protected.

Anthony Claggett, Steven Jackson, Christian Garcia and Mike Dunn were all added to the roster.

- I like Claggett’s stuff the best out of the four, think he probably has the best upside of the group.  Would be curious to see if he remains a reliever down the road.

- I think Jackson’s stuff is pretty average.  It seems like he’s OK when he’s on, and really bad when he isn’t.  I question why he was kept over several others guys I’ll bring up in a bit.  Apparently, he really came into his own in Scranton…didn’t see it here, though.

- I haven’t bought into the hype on Garcia just yet.  I’ve stressed on here before that I can only base my assessments on guys off of what I’ve seen in person.  He pitched at Waterfront Park once and he wasn’t that sharp.  Everything I read leads me to believe he’s better than that, but I’ll believe it when I see it…that’s not a knock on him, just the way I approach things.

- Liked Dunn a lot in the short amount of time I got to see him, but I need to see more of him.  For an organization that has as much left-handed pitching as I have a chance of getting a date with Jenna Fischer anytime this millennium, he could become a very valuable prospect, very quickly.

Among the Thunder players left unprotected: P.J. Pilittere, Zach Kroenke, Kevin Whelan, Chris Malec, Marcos Vechionacci, Reegie Corona, Ramiro Pena, Jason Jones, J.B. Cox.

I think that’s all of them, I might have missed one or two…

The name that stands out to me here is Chris Malec.  I’d be rather surprised if a team doesn’t take a chance on him.  I’ve said before that I think that if he can improve his defense, his bat will advance him through many a farm system.

Pilittere and Jones also stand out for me…I think moving to another organization could be a blessing for them, especially Jones.  I still think Pilittere has a chance to advance with the Yankees, and I feel like he’s going to be a big league backstop one day.  Maybe not with the Yankees, and maybe not as a full-time guy, but he deserves a shot to wear a big league uniform.  As for JJ, I think the Yankees have shown time and time again that no matter what he does, they’re not going to give him a shot.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

3 Responses to “Who’s Available?”

  1. SP Says:

    I feel the same way about Malec, and am a little worried that the Yankees will lose him. But, by all accounts, he has a tremendous work ethic, so it would be good to see him get a chance somewhere.

    As for JJ, the best thing that could happen for him would be to sign elsewhere (isn’t he a free agent?) The Yankees just have too much pitching depth…and they’ll have even more if they sign 2-3 free agent pitchers this offseason. He’s also getting a little older, so it’s time for him to make a run. But I believe he has the ability…he should have pitched at AAA last yr, but the organization’s depth hurt him a bit.

  2. mbn Says:

    I doubt that anyone will take Malec and keep him on the 25 man roster all season long.

  3. tdevils Says:

    I like Michael Gardner personally, but keep in mind he got picked last year…the Rule 5 draft is way too unpredictable to have any idea of who’s going to get picked and who isn’t.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

