Brian Bruney Quotes (Featuring A K-Rod Rip)

1:45 PM — Brian Bruney in-game quotes…

On last night’s Yankee game: “Unbelievable, I’ve never seen anything like that. I have, but in high school. Couldn’t have happened to a better guy on the mound, either. He’s got a tired act. I think that’s bad, but two years ago, when he lost the game…I don’t know if anybody saw it, I did. He was in Oakland and he was pitching for Anaheim, didn’t get a call, and so he was like complaining. The catcher threw it back and he just kind of did one of these (Bruney half-heartedly holds his arm out) and hit off his glove and bounced behind and the guy from third scored and they won the game. He gets what he deserves, man. I just don’t like watching the guy pitch. I think it’s embarassing.”

Rehab Stuff: “I think I was getting pretty close to getting activated without going on a rehab. Just because we’re kind of short on arms. It was important for me to face hitters, just because it’s kind of a different gear than throwing live BP or bullpens or anything like that. I think everything came out well and everything felt good. I think the next step will be rejoining the team.”

“I felt good. I did what I wanted to do, attack hitters and pitched in the zone. I threw all my pitches. I was just looking to just throw and make sure it felt good.”

“I don’t think I want to be out there much longer than that. I think if you throw strikes and attack hitters, 12 (pitches) is a pretty good number. I was happy about that. I think if I’m out there throwing 25 pitches, I’m probably not very sharp. It was important that I did have a relatively low count, that means I was throwing the ball effectively.”

“I would doubt (I get activated tomorrow), just because I threw today and they’ll probably want to give me a day to see how it feels. We have an off day on Monday, so I’ll probably re-join Tuesday.”

“I think I showed enough in my bullpens, and I threw I live BP in Boston…I think I showed enough. I think it was four total bullpens and live BP, so I think I showed enough in there to where they had some confidence in me to where they could put me in a game and get people out. But ultimately, they wanted to see me in a game setting before I got back.”

“Part of me wanted to come, and part of me wanted to re-join the team, obviously. Any competitive athlete would want to try to help right away and I’m pretty competitive, so I wanted to throw with the team a month ago. But we had to take it easy and let it play out and that everything was good.”

“I had a strained flexor mass, which is not a good thing, especially being a pitcher. Just a strained muscle. I first noticed it…I threw a game against, I believe it was Oakland. There was a home run that Posada hit, and it took quite a long time to review the replay. I think I threw a lot of pitches that day, and the next day I had to come back and pitch again. I noticed it warming up. The whole time, it wasn’t a pain that I couldn’t pitch (with), it was just annoying and you don’t want to feel anything. You want to feel good all the time. It was every pitch, and I had to say something just hoping to get a few days off. We got an MRI and it showed the muscle flare.”

“I think every pitcher has experienced some stiffness or tightness or soreness of some sort, and you’ve got to know between sore and hurt. Every time you feel something, you can’t just say I feel something in my arm, I can’t throw. That would be all the time. It’s a long season, it’s 162 games, and you’ve got to be counted on to go four or five times. Sometimes you’re going to go out there when you don’t feel good, or it’s hurt or it’s sore. I didn’t think it was hurt, so I kept pitching. It turns out it was hurt.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

9 Responses to “Brian Bruney Quotes (Featuring A K-Rod Rip)”

  1. Game 62: Yanks vs. Mets Says:

    [...] He threw 12 pitches, 8 for strikes. According to Mike Ashmore his fastball hit 94 mph on the gun. Ashmore also has this quote from Bruney about last night’s game: “Unbelievable, I’ve never seen [...]

  2. John Says:

    Do you know if Bruney left or not?

  3. thunderbaseball Says:

    believe he did…

  4. Art Vandalay Says:

    Hey Mike,
    quite a s**t storm you started. It even made the post-game show on YES.

  5. james palmer Says:

    A Hex on Brian Bruney. May his arm fall off and will have to be a mens room attendant for a living. Since he is not capable of doing anything else! Feel the pain yet Bruney ? you will!

  6. thunderbaseball Says:

    Art…it’s in all the NY papers and so on. And I or any other reporter didn’t start that…as I repeated many, many times in the press box last night: “He said it.”

    The question clearly had nothing to do with K-Rod, so he must have just wanted to get that off his chest or something, I don’t know…

    For someone who’s under the constant scrutiny of the NY media, he had to have known that he can’t just say something like that and expect nothing to come from it.

  7. saucY Says:

    I disagree with the question having nothing to do with K-Rod. The question was about the result of a Yankee/Met game which resulted in a blown save and was asked to another reliever. It’s not odd that he would think of the the relief role point of view, as opposed to the 2nd baseman’s. I’m sure most relievers in baseball thought of the blown save before anything else after seeing/reading the recap/highlights…

  8. thunderbaseball Says:

    If he said something like…”man, that sure would suck to be on the mound for that…” Ok then. But he made somewhat of a personal rip instead.

  9. saucY Says:

    Yeah, he did go off on a bit of a tangent.

    And I love it! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

