Game 90: Post-Game Notes (McAllister Update)

– This is going to be brief, because it’s 12:30 AM and I’m drop-dead tired…

In the span of a 42 second interview, Zach McAllister said the word “rest” six times.  If you ask him, it seems the organization feels he needs some of it. 

“I’m just kind of getting some rest,” he said.

“I’ve thrown a lot of innings so far.  That’s pretty much it.  It’s just for precautionary reasons.”

Hmmm.  OK.  Still doesn’t explain why McAllister arrived to the ballpark three hours after his teammates in street clothes.  Tony Franklin shed some more light on the issue.

“There’s nothing specifically you can say that’s wrong with him, but I think every pitcher goes through a little period of dead arm,” he said.

“He’s going to go have an MRI and make sure there’s nothing structurally wrong.”

I asked Franklin flat-out whether McAllister had the MRI already, which would explain his being late, and he told me he had not.  If I’m being honest, I’m not sure I believe that.  Franklin said it was just a dead arm issue at this point, and wasn’t sure if the MRI — which he may or may not have had already — was/would be for his shoulder, elbow or anything else.

“He complained of a dead arm, so they’re going to look at everything,” Franklin said.

“His last outing, when he was pitching the other night, Tommy and I both said he’s not throwing the ball well.  He mentioned to (trainer Tim Lentych) that maybe he wasn’t really feeling great, but that happens.  You have no idea how many guys come to Tim and say my arm feels like crap, can you rub this.  Their arm is their lifeline, they need to take care of it.”

– Franklin said he doesn’t know who will start Sunday, since McAllister was supposed to start that day.

– There is no news on James Cooper, who was supposed to be activated from the disabled list today.

– As reported here earlier, Mike Dunn was sent to Scranton and Paul Bush was sent down from Scranton to Trenton.

“Congratulations to Michael, I think he’s pitched well enough to earn the promotion,” Franklin said.

For Dunn, who leaves Trenton with a 3-3 record, 3.71 ERA and team high 76 strikeouts, this is his first trip up to Triple-A. 

“I’m excited,” Dunn said.

“I was hoping for it, but it’s something where you try not to think it’s going to happen, it’s going to happen, it’s going to happen…you just go and play and whenever you get the call, you get the call.”

The 24-year-old converted position player feels like he’s ready to make the jump.

“I’ve still got some stuff I’ve got to work on, but hopefully up there I can get it fixed.  I’m one step closer.”

Bush, a 29-year-old righty, started the season with Somerset of the independent Atlantic League, where he was a teammate of current Thunder outfielder Noah Hall.

Signed by the Yankees organization in late May, he’s made seven appearances for Scranton, going 2-2 with a 4.86 ERA, including two spot starts.  I’d be willing to bet you’ll see him in that role on Sunday as well…

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

