Rule 5 Recap

Going to keep this quick, seeing as how I’m not supposed to do too much of anything other than lay down after coming down with strep throat and bronchitis at the same time…

Chad Jennings has got the scoop over at the LoHud Yankees Blog, but the Yankees acquired Jamie Hoffmann from the Dodgers in the Rule 5 Draft. He’s a big outfielder who can swing the bat and plays above average defense.

– The Yankees also lost two Thunder alumni, as Zach Kroenke was taken for the second year in a row, this time by the Arizona Diamondbacks, and Seattle selected Kanekoa Texeira.  I thought Kroenke could have stuck with the Marlins last year, so I don’t even know what to think about his chances with Arizona.  They just gave up a couple relievers, so maybe there’s room for him.

As for Texeira, I don’t think he’s big league ready just yet…but considering the Yankees ran his arm into the ground last year, I doubt he’d mind a change of scenery, either.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

13 Responses to “Rule 5 Recap”

  1. CEC Says:

    We hope you feel better Mike.

  2. Peter Lacock Says:

    Every player wants the chance to stick on a 25 man roster.
    So Texeira complained to you about the Yankees treatment of him, eh Mike?

  3. Joe Says:

    i think he just meant that they overworked him. He went from a reliever to starter and pitched a career high in innings.

  4. Peter Lacock Says:

    On the surface there was nothing to indicate a desire to leave because of abuse. He was supposed to throw a career high in innings. His increase might have been a bit atypical but was not remarkable for a healthy young pitcher. It would have been completely normal if not for the extra innings incurred from a handful of starts. The versatility that the organization challenged him with and his continued success is why he was selected in the rule 5 draft.
    If I were Texeira I would love to play, want even more innings and I would be eternally grateful to the Yankees for the extra work.
    Statements like ‘the Yankees ran his arm into the ground’ and ‘doubt he’d mind a change of scenery’ are usually from someone who’s sick, bitter or has intimate knowledge. I don’t have intimate knowledge so I asked. I would also appreciate an answer.

  5. Dave S. Staten Island Says:

    Hi Pete,

    I’m no expert just a fan, but I’ve talked to Tex all season long and not once did he mention how he’s been used, he was just happy to be out there. Also another guy was Josh Schmidt. I once brought it up to him how hard it must be to have to go back from being a middle guy to a spot starter and visa versa. He looked at me and said he will do anything to move up to the next level. Again, this is just a fans viewpoint but you could usually tell when a player is upset if you talk to them enough believe I’ve seen it before.. Seattle must’ve seen something they liked in Tex and I wish him the best.

  6. Peter Lacock Says:

    Sup Dave,

    Yeah, that’s what I would have figured.
    Ballplayers want to play. The guys that want a change of scenery are usually the guys that DON”T get their arm ran into the ground. That’s why Mike’s comments surprised me. I thought maybe Tex said something to him but maybe Mike was just kidding. Sometimes it’s hard to tell sarcasm when it’s in print. Now if he didn’t get opportunities after performing well, like say PJ, I could see him wanting to go to a different organization.
    I too of course wish him well. Selfishly, I wouldn’t mind if Seattle can’t figure out a way to squeeze him on their 25 man and have to return him. For Tex’s sake I hope they can.

  7. thunderbaseball Says:

    There was no reading between the lines with what I said. Tex’s innings got jumped way up in ’09 from what they were in ’08. He was overused. He got tired at the end of the year, and told me as much.

    He did not, however, ever complain about the way he was being treated.

    I exchanged a few messages with Tex the other day and I know he’s hoping everything works out one way or the other.

  8. Dave S. Staten Island Says:

    I hear you Pete, if there was one guy who has the right to complain it’s PJ. I figured that would be Mike’s response, that Tex said he was tired and didn’t complain about the way he was being used. It would be great if Tex showed Seattle something. How could you not root for a guy like Tex………

  9. thunderbaseball Says:

    60 innings in ’08, 101.1 in ’09. Percentage wise, I wonder if any pitcher in the Yankees organization had that big of a jump in innings between two full-season teams (i.e., not between Staten Island and Charleston, etc.).

  10. Rich M. Says:

    Ryan Zink went from 52 innings in Charleston in 2008 to 135 innings in Tampa in 2009. I would say thats a bigger jump than Tex.

    Tex’s innings total is only 10 innings over the “normal” progression that most teams use for workloads.

  11. tdevils Says:

    For a starter, yes…

  12. thunderfangabe Says:

    this was the first time ever that tex was used as a starter

  13. Joe Says:

    which is what i mentioned before.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

