Changing Of The Gardner

This was Mike Gardner in 2008…

This is Mike Gardner in 2010…

You will notice there is no available photo of Mike Gardner in 2009.  A once-promising reliever with the New York Yankees who was tantalizingly close to the big leagues after being a Rule 5 draft pick of the San Diego Padres, Gardner missed all of last season after undergoing right shoulder surgery, and was not brought back by the Yankee organization this year.

Finally back on a field and in a uniform, Gardner’s grateful to be pitching anywhere, whether it be on the independent circuit or elsewhere.

“It feels great, honestly,” Gardner said.

“This has been a long road getting back.  It’s good being out here and being around all the guys again and I’m just getting ready to take the field for the first time in a year and a half.  It’s a good feeling.”

Former special pitching instructor for the Yankees, Rich Monteleone, referred the 28-year-old righty reliever to pitching coach and director of player procurement Brett Jodie.  Coincidentally, Jodie underwent the same shoulder surgery in 2004 that Gardner did last season.

“I feel great,” Gardner told me.

“I’m in good shape and I want to get my arm worked a lot and get my shoulder ready to go.  I haven’t pitched competitively since the ’08 season, so I’m eager to see how I’ll bounce back on a day-to-day basis with the daily grind that we all endure here.  That’s my main question, to see how I do in the recovery process as far as strength goes.”

While Gardner had played with players who had spent some time in the Atlantic League before, such as current teammate Noah Hall and Scott Patterson, he hadn’t really heard too much about the league before signing.

“I did some research online and talked to a couple guys,” he told me.

“I saw they have pretty long schedules and that’s kind of what I was used to.  Other than that, I’d heard nothing but good things about the Somerset Patriots.  When they day came to sign with them, I was excited.”

Gardner will likely be used similarly to how he was in the Yankees organization, as a late inning reliever and setup man.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

5 Responses to “Changing Of The Gardner”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks for the update. Looks like he’s in good shape

  2. Art Vandelay Says:

    Hey another story about Somerset…and it’s about Mike Gardner…let’s keep those Atlantic League stories coming…is Lipso Nava still playing in that league, or has he filed for Social Security?

  3. ebyanks Says:

    Mike, This has nothing to do with Gardner, other then you have seen a decent amount of Pitchers pass through Trenton, what were your initial thoughts on Phelps after seeing him pitch and what recent Thunder Pitcher would you compare him to?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

