Fan Q&A: Austin Romine, Part 2

Here’s the second part of the answers to the questions that you, the fans and readers of Thunder Thoughts, submitted to Trenton catcher and Yankees prospect Austin Romine…

Question: From watching you play, I see you have above average speed for a catcher.  Do you plan to use that speed to steal more bases?

Romine: “I do.  I actually take a lot of pride in that.  I think I had 11 or 12 in Tampa last year, and any time a catcher gets in double digits, that’s not a bad thing.  I definitely do not want to be labeled as a slow catcher, that’s why I’m trying to show that I can steal and I can beat out double plays.  So I take a lot of pride in that, and I will be trying to steal a lot more bags this year.”

Question: Between High-A and Double-A, what are the differences that you have noticed both behind the plate and with the bat?

Romine: “More consistency.  Pitchers have a better idea, pitches move more.  It’s not so erratic, where a lot of guys are just throwing hard.  Now you’ve got guys that know how to pitch and they’re here for a reason.  You have to lock in more and don’t let them get you out.”

Question: “I know a few guys named Austin, and both are nicknamed Auggie…have you ever been called that…and I guess a question I can pull out of that is: Do you have a nickname?

Romine: “I don’t.  A lot of people call me “Ro,” but that’s not really a nickname.  I’ve never heard Auggie before.”

Question: I’d like to know if Austin feels any extra pressure to live up to the public perception that he is in line to be the next full-time catcher for the Yankees…

Romine: “I get that question every once in a while.  There’s no pressure.  If I don’t perform, then none of that is going to happen.  I just have to take things day by day, and wherever they put me, perform.  I don’t really feel any pressure with that.”

Question: Did Austin feel any pressure at home to become a professional player?  Was his dad pushing him towards this or did he always want to follow in his dad’s footsteps on his own?

Romine: “My dad never, ever pushed me.  It was a big influence in my life growing up, it’s always something I’ve loved and always something I’ve wanted to do.  He’s never pushed me to do something I didn’t want to do.”

Question: Are there any teammates you’ve gotten close to in the past several years or former teammates that you’ve kept in contact with?

Romine: “I’m friends with all the guys.  We’re all really close.  We have a pretty good core group here and we all have fun and stay loose.  If you just come to a game, you can see we stay loose.  They’re all really good guys.”

Question: Would you be upset if you were traded out of the Yankees organization some day?

Romine: “In a sense, yeah.  They were there from the beginning, they gave me a shot at professional baseball.  They’ve given me all the tools I’ve needed to succeed.  I’d like nothing more than to make it with the Yankees.”

Question: Defensively, a lot of people think you’re ready.  Who were some of the catchers you’ve watched to aid your development growing up?

Romine: “I watched Ivan Rodriguez a lot.  Tony Pena, actually.  He and my dad were pretty close.  I remember watching him a lot when I was younger.  I watched all of them, though.  Any time I got a chance to pick up something from a professional catcher, I was going to do that.  If I could apply something to my game to make me better, I wanted to do that.”

Follow-Up: “Have you had the chance to speak with Pena, now that he’s a coach for the Yankees?

Romine: “Oh yeah.  Every time I go there, I do.  The first time I saw him, he goes, ‘The last time I saw you, you were a little baby and now you’re playing.’  We have a good relationship.  He’s a hard worker, and he makes you ready to work.  He makes you work.  I’ve got nothing but respect for him, and I’m sure he respects me.  I love that guy, he’s a good guy.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

One Response to “Fan Q&A: Austin Romine, Part 2”

  1. Montero’s bat continues to wake up | River Avenue Blues Says:

    […] Ashmore posted the second part of his Q&A with Austin Romine, and it’s a must read. I can’t wait to see the kid show off his speed. Oh, and in case […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

