Archive for September 16th, 2010

Brackman Likely To Start Game 5; Arbiso To The Bullpen

September 16, 2010

The big start will go to the big man.

Andrew Brackman was told to shut it down after Game 1, that he was done for the rest of the season.  The phone call he got today provided some different information.

“I was told to come up here and throw a bullpen, just in case they need me for Game 5,” said Brackman before the rainout.  “I’ll be ready if that happens.”

It would seem that’s the plan, as Thunder manager Tony Franklin said prior to the game being postponed that Brackman was “more in play now if the game were not to be played than he was yesterday.”  The other option, of course, would be Cory Arbiso, which Franklin said he was “totally fine with.”

The most likely scenario, however, is Arbiso heading to the bullpen.

“Cory’s been able to go just about everywhere for us this year,” Franklin said.

“If there was something that were to happen to Brackman in the game, if he pitches, I could see (Arbiso backing him up).”

For Brackman, it’s a difficult position to be in as well.  He’s preparing for what would be the biggest game of his pro career, but is hoping that it never gets that far.

“I want to be there for Game 5, and I’m glad I have the opportunity to be, but I hope my teammates can come through and we can all just win a championship,” he said.

The 6-foot-10 righty has been in bigger games than this before, he says.  Pitching for NC State in the ACC Tournament was one thing, but getting to the Sweet 16 in the NCAA Basketball Tournament was something else…

“The Sweet 16 (against Wisconsin) was probably the biggest, I played in front of more people and everything,” he said.

“The game before that, we played UConn, and that was a really big game, too.  The UConn game, I did very good.  The Sweet 16 game, I think I fouled out with no points and probably one rebound, that’s all.”

As for guys who stick to one sport, Arbiso has not pitched since September 5, but says throwing on the side since then has helped him stay sharp.

“You work on stuff (in side sessions), and I think most likely, I’ll be ready.  (I can probably throw) 95-100 pitches,” he said.

Arbiso has been in limbo ever since the start of the playoffs, seemingly pushed out of the rotation by the two rehab starts made by Andy Pettitte.

“I didn’t know where I was going to be,” he said.

“Yesterday, I was in the bullpen.  He said if I don’t throw out of the bullpen, I have a side just to be ready for Game 5.”

Arbiso is in the middle of his longest gap between outings since a 13-day gap in the middle of the season when both he and Josh Schmidt couldn’t buy an inning.  One possible concern about a possible Game 5 appearance is that the last time he had such a layoff, he didn’t feel his best.

“Some days, you’re going to have 80 percent,” he said.

“But what I say to myself is to use 100 percent of that 80 percent, and you get it done.  That’s what I did.  That doesn’t concern me at all, that’s just the part of baseball.  It’s the mentality.  Yeah, it’s physical too, but you just have to be ready in that moment.  I think I am.”

Game 5, if necessary, would be played at Waterfront Park on Sunday.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

New Thunder Playoff Schedule

September 16, 2010

(PR) (Trenton, NJ) – Thursday evening’s Eastern League Championship Series Game at Waterfront Park between the Trenton Thunder (NY Yankees) and Altoona Curve (Pittsburgh Pirates)  has been postponed due to rain.  The best-of-five game series is tied at one game apiece. 

Trenton Home Playoff Game # 4 (ELCS Game 3) will now be played on Friday, September 17 and all other games will be pushed back one day.  

Tickets that have “Home Playoff Game #4″ printed on them will be honored for the game on Friday, September 17.  Tickets that read “Home Playoff Game #5″ will be honored on Saturday, September 18.  Finally, tickets that read “Home Playoff Game #6″ will be honored on Sunday, September 19 (if the game is necessary).  All game times will remain 7:05 PM. 

Here is the revised ELCS schedule:

Home Playoff Game #4 (ELCS Game 3)
Friday,  September 17, 7:05 PM

Home Playoff Game #5 (ELCS Game 4)
Saturday, September 18, 7:05 PM

Home Playoff Game #6 (ELCS Game 5, if necessary)
Sunday, September 19, 1:05 PM


Fans with questions are encouraged to contact the Thunder ticket office at 609-394-3300 ext 101.

Trenton Thunder tickets are available online at trentonthunder.com or by calling 609-394-3300.

Game 3 Postponed

September 16, 2010

The game has been postponed.  Game 3 will take place tomorrow at 7:05 PM.  I’ll have more when I know it about the rest of the schedule…

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

ELCS Game 3: Pre-Game Notes

September 16, 2010

7:00 PM — Tentative start time at 7:45 PM…

6:35 PM — Not a ton going on here with the tarp being on the field…

If this game gets rained out — playoff games CANNOT be suspended — Andrew Brackman is very likely to throw Game 5.  Cory Arbiso would likely get moved to the bullpen…he was in the bullpen yesterday and threw a light side today.  There are some quotes I’ll post after the game/rainout from Tony Franklin, Brackman and Arbiso.

4:35 PM — The Thunder beat writer contingent has safely arrived back from Altoona.  Lineups await us…

ALTOONA

Chase D’Arnaud, 2B
Josh Harrison, 3B
Jordy Mercer, SS
Matt Hague, 1B
Andrew Lambo, LF
Hector Gimenez, C
Jim Negrych, DH
Miles Durham, RF
Anthony Norman, CF

Justin Wilson, P

TRENTON

Austin Krum, CF
Justin Snyder, 3B
Dan Brewer, RF
Austin Romine, C
Marcos Vechionacci, 1B
Rene Rivera, DH
Damon Sublett, LF
Luis Nunez, SS
Matt Cusick, 2B

Adam Warren, P


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers