Romanski “Slotted” For Trenton Rotation This Year

Truth be told, Josh Romanski didn’t really deserve to get sent back down to Tampa last season.  The 25-year-old Corona, California native pitched quite well out of the Thunder bullpen last year after being plucked out of the Tampa rotation.

The lefty was up for about five weeks, but made quite an impression by pitching to a 2.04 ERA in 13 outings in his first foray in Double-A.  But he was sent back down to Tampa to finish the season, and it was unclear if he’d even return to the Yankees organization.

“That was frustrating to get sent down, but the people in the organization made it clear to me that it’s nothing that you did in Trenton that made you deserve to get sent down,” he said.

“I wasn’t too upset about it.  Obviously, they re-signed me this off-season, so I feel like they definitely have interest in me as a player.  It wasn’t too bad.  It’s disappointing any time you get sent down to a level below you, but it’s part of the game.  Sometimes, it happens.”

Well, not only is Romanski back, but he’s returning in the rotation.  He’ll begin the season as Trenton’s fifth starter, which he first found out about around the middle of spring training.

“I’m ready to accept the challenge, I’m excited about it,” Romanski said.  “I just want to to focus on giving my team a chance to win every fifth day.”

Every fifth day is certainly an adjustment from every few days for the affable southpaw, who says he’ll pitch a little differently than he did with the Thunder last year, in more ways than one.

“A pitcher like myself, who relies on changing speeds a lot, I might pitch a little differently as a starter now,” he said.

“But at the end of the day, it’s pitching and getting outs and executing pitches.”

As it turns out, Romanski will be trying to execute those pitches from a different arm slot this year.

“I dropped my arm slot a little bit so I’m not so over the top, just to be more effective against left-handed hitters,” he said.

“Last year, especially when I got up here, I struggled against left-handed batters, and as a left-handed pitcher, that’s something that I need to improve on.  I dropped my arm slot a little bit and got some pretty good feedback from that in spring training.  Nardi Contreras was the one who suggested that to me, and I went with it.  I think it’s going to end up being a very good adjustment for me.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com // Twitter: mashmore98

2 Responses to “Romanski “Slotted” For Trenton Rotation This Year”

  1. Game 1: Pre-Game Notes « Mike Ashmore’s Thunder Thoughts Says:

    [...] Phelps Talks Pitching ** ** Almonte On The Rise ** ** Heyer Finally A Starter To Begin Season ** ** Romanski Slotted For Trenton Rotation ** ** Adams Ready To Put Best Foot Forward ** ** Whitley Looking To Build Off First Full Season ** [...]

  2. Anonymous Says:

    good luck son go get um we love u

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

