Archive for May 6th, 2012

Game 28: Post-Game Notes

May 6, 2012

These will be up at some point later tonight or tomorrow.  Currently at the Prudential Center covering Game 4 of the Eastern Conference Semifinals matchup between Philadelphia and New Jersey.

Wrote my story for The Trentonian on the train, and that’ll have quotes from Tony Franklin and Abraham Almonte in there if it should come out before the notes do…

Game 28: Pre-Game Notes

May 6, 2012

11:45 AM: Ibarra is indeed on the DL.

Cody Johnson is playing in the field for only the second time this season…again in left.  Some pre-game comments:

Tony Franklin: “You might seeing Cody out there a little bit more often.  He’s a young player, and I don’t think we want to develop a 23-year-old DH.  He’s starting to swing the bat, and I think we should do everything we can to benefit his career by playing him defensively.  He’s got some tools to work with.”

Johnson: “It’s going to be fun, I don’t know what’s going to happen.  “I’m actually enjoying DH’ing, and last year it was really hard.  It was a challenge.  I didn’t know the role, I didn’t know what I was doing.  I thought it was, ‘Hey, you don’t have to play the field, you just go hit four times.’  It’s a lot harder than that.  I kind of settled into a routine and figured out what I need to do, and it’s making it a lot easier.  If that’s my role, that’s what I’m going to do, and that’s fine with me.”

11:00 AM: Lineups…

Thunder lineup: A. Almonte RF, Joseph 2B, Molina DH, Johnson LF, Mesa CF, Murton 1B, Mahoney 3B, Gil C, Maruszak SS, Arbiso P

NH lineup: Goins 2B, Jackson CF, McDade 1B, Sobolewski 3B, Tolisano DH, Glenn RF, Jeroloman C, Diaz SS, McElroy LF, Pino P

INF Jose Toussen is here.  That likely means a DL trip for Walter Ibarra.  I’ll head down to the clubhouse in a bit…

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers