Franklin Likely To Return For 2013 Season

For weeks, Tony Franklin has deflected questions about his status for the 2013 season.  But in the minutes after his Thunder ballclub lost in their fourth championship appearance during his six-year tenure, the 62-year-old seemed to indicate that he’d be returning to the capital city next season.

“Let’s face it, this is what I do. I like doing it, I have not grown tired of doing this at all,” he said.

“I love working with young men and helping to develop talent. That is so much fun for me to do that. What’s going to happen next year? I’m not sure. Right now, I’m going to go home and see my wife, because I’ve missed her for a long, long time. But I wouldn’t be surprised if I’m back here next year, if they’ll have me.”

Franklin has led Trenton to two Eastern League championships, and has a 20-10 overall playoff record, including a 6-2 mark in playoff series.  He recently won his first league Manager of the Year award and won his 1,000th career game this year as well.  From the Yankees end, bringing him back would seem to be a no-brainer.

“I’m going to ask (Mark Newman) if he’s got something in store for me, and if he asks me if I’d like to come back or if he tells me he’d like for me to come back, I pretty much would have the answer for him when we talk,” Franklin said.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

3 Responses to “Franklin Likely To Return For 2013 Season”

  1. Dealin Dellin Says:

    Mike,

    Great job all season long.

    Thank you for your intelligence, energy and for going the extra mile.

    Your coverage is outstanding.

  2. yanksince57 Says:

    what he said!

  3. kinglear Says:

    Belated thanks for the coverage, Mike. As usual, especially great job being responsive to our questions, getting us the video and velocity readings we ask for, and writing articles that we can’t get anywhere else. Tremendous job!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

