Archive for April 23rd, 2008

Respect Ashmore’s Gangster?

April 23, 2008

So the interview I had alluded to that I did with the guys over at Respect Jeter’s Gangster is now posted.

They asked a very wide variety of questions — some serious, some not — so it might be a good read for you guys.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

Game 21: Trenton @ Binghamton

April 23, 2008

Game 21 – Trenton Thunder @ Binghamton Mets
April 23, 2008
NYSEG Stadium – Binghamton, NY

Pitching Matchup: TRE Chase Wright (3-1, 2.92) vs. BNG Jake Ruckle (1-1, 4.60)

Starting Lineups: Couldn’t access my WordPress account for some inexpicable reason…sorry for the late lineups.

Trenton

1 – Ramiro Pena, SS
2 – Austin Jackson, CF
3 – Colin Curtis, LF
4 – Matt Carson, DH
5 – Cody Ehlers, 1B
6 – Jose Tabata, RF
7 – P.J. Pilittere, C
8 – Chris Malec, 3B
9 – Reegie Corona, 2B

Binghamton

1 – Martinez
2 – Coronado
3 – Murphy
4 – Evans
5 – Carp
6 – Manriquez
7 – Garcia
8 – Petersen
9 – Concepcion

Pre-Game Notes: Make sure you get me your questions for the guys…I’ll be at the ballpark tomorrow, and if I can’t get them answered by then, I’ll be back Saturday as well.

Radio Links: Click here for the links to each team’s broadcast.

Live Box Score: The MILB.com direct link is here.

Around the Eastern League: For scores from around the EL, go here.

Final Score: 8-5, Thunder.

Post-Game Notes: Austin Jackson has extended his hitting streak to 12 games.  In case you’re curious, the Thunder franchise record hitting streak belongs to Freddy Sanchez, who hit in 27 straight in 2002. 

Great job by the Red Sox to let him go for next to nothing…

The Thunder’s 15 hits established a new season high.  Trenton broke the game open against the B-Mets bullpen, which came into the game with an ERA over five.

By contrast, the Thunder bullpen did well, with Michael Gardner getting the win and David Robertson picking up the save, his second on the year.

The only Thunder player without a hit was Ramiro Pena, who went 0-for-5.

Trenton went 5-2 on the road trip.

Thunder Thoughts: Good to see Carlos Mendoza back in there.  He saw his first action since April 5th, scoring a run and getting a hit in the 9th.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

Submit Your Questions For The Players

April 23, 2008

While the odds of this blowing up in my face are pretty strong, I figured I’d give this a shot anyway.

I will be at the ballpark tomorrow, and will have a half an hour to ask any player or coach any question I’d like.  I’m sure I’ll have a few things I’ll need to get done for myself, but how would you guys like to do my job for me?

Post your questions for any Thunder player or coach (except that day’s starter George Kontos) in the comments and if that player or coach is accessible, I will ask them what you want to know.

I can’t promise that your question(s) will be answered, but I will do my best.

I have faith in you guys, but I should point out that anything profane or lacking any shred of common sense will be ignored.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers