FANswers: Part Three

Now that my working vacation is over, the answers to your questions have returned.

In the third installment of the six-part series, Jason Jones and Austin Jackson answer the questions submitted through the Thunder Thoughts blog.

JASON JONES

Ask some of the top prospects (based on performance, not perception, please) if the fact that the Yankees are using kids from the Minors in prominent roles this season (Veras, Ramirez, Robertson) helps them feel they also have a chance to get there. In the past, the Yankees always used the Minors as trading chips, but this is changing.

“I try not to get caught up in all that.  You can worry about that all you want, but you’ve just got to go out there and get guys out.  I’m just hoping for a shot, and I’ve got to give myself a chance.  I’ve just got to work for it.”

What is your favorite in-game promotion?

“Hmmm…can I go least favorite?  I’d like to see Boomer win one of the Boomer races.  I’m always pulling for him, but he never seems to win.  So my least favorite would probably be the Boomer race.  I like the dizzy bat race, that’s pretty good.  I’ve got a couple ties with the favorite, but the least favorite is definitely the Boomer race.  Just win one.  One a year.”

For anyone: Who’s the funniest guy on the team? I always love the stories that go along with that question.

“Jackson.  Once you get him in the right setting and he comes out of his shell…he’s got a gift, he can impersonate anybody.  Just the way he talks…he does a southern guy who lives on a farm, and so on.  You’ve got to get him to do his impersonations sometime.  He’s definitely got a gift, he doesn’t even know it.  His best impression is doing skip, Tony Franklin.  His bad walk, his bad hips and running out.  He does a great impersonation.  By far the funniest.”

Jason Jones and/or Chase Wright – Do you think you might get a bit overlooked because you don’t have the big fastball, instead relying on “pitching” to be so successful?

“My theory on that is there are guys that throw hard and throughout the years, when they go on, what normally happens is they start losing velocity.  Where guys like us, who are consistent 90-90-90 can pitch through the years and are going to stay there.  But if you’re not way up, there’s not a whole lot to go down.  There are guys who get guys out who don’t throw necessarily hard, but can pitch…it’s going to be more beneficial because we know how to pitch, we have to pitch.  We don’t rely on fastballs.  But the guys who have the big fastball, they don’t have to be so fine sometimes.  They can throw down the middle, but it’s 95, so it doesn’t get hit.  But when they start struggling, and they’re dropping down to 90 now and that’s right down the middle, they’re not going to get away with it.  And the guys that throw 95 and can locate are throwing in the big leagues.  Guys like me and Chase that have movement and don’t throw necessarily hard but can pitch have, over the long run, a better chance of staying around than guys that throw hard that don’t know how to locate.”

AUSTIN JACKSON

Sweet. Your blog keeps getting better.
I’d like you to ask, Austin Jackson of course, who he compares himself to (as a player) and which player he idols the most.
Thanks Mike,
Ty

“I don’t know if I could compare myself to anybody, but I definitely look up to Ken Griffey, Jr.  That’s who I’ve always looked up to.  He’s my favorite player.”

Ask some of the top prospects (based on performance, not perception, please) if the fact that the Yankees are using kids from the Minors in prominent roles this season (Veras, Ramirez, Robertson) helps them feel they also have a chance to get there. In the past, the Yankees always used the Minors as trading chips, but this is changing.

“Yeah, definitely.  Just because you’ve seen that when minor leaguers come in, it gives them a spark a little bit.  It gives the guys who are injured a break, they can just step in and play a little role and play their part.  So definitely, anything can happen.”

What is your favorite in-game promotion?

“Probably the bungee one.  I don’t know what it’s called.  The bungee toss?  I don’t know.”

What are some of the earliest baseball memories of the players. Are there any specific items that stick out from their childhoods? Favorite places to play, funny incidents that stick out (broken windows…), playing catch with dads etc.

“Probably coach pitch, All-Star Game.  I remember hitting three home runs.  It was coach pitch, so they were laying it right in there.”

For anyone: Who’s the funniest guy on the team? I always love the stories that go along with that question.

“Coop, James Cooper.  For me, it’s Coop.  He keeps me laughing.”

One Response to “FANswers: Part Three”

  1. Ty Says:

    Cool.
    Thanks again Mike.

Leave a Reply

