What’s Your Fantasy?

Was kicking around the idea of having a Thunder Thoughts fantasy football league.  If some readers or Yankee bloggers would be interested in joining, send me an e-mail and I’ll see if there’s enough interest in setting something up.

Just had my draft for the 12-team league I’m in with my friends — this will be my seventh year in the league, I’ve made the playoffs in each of the previous six years — and my starters look like this…

QB – Matt Hasselbeck (R6, 70th overall)
WR – T.J. Houshmandzadeh (R2, 22nd overall)
WR – Torry Holt (R3, 27th overall)
WR – Roddy White (R5, 51st overall)
RB – Adrian Peterson (R1, 3rd overall)
RB – Earnest Graham (R4, 46th overall)
TE – Owen Daniels (R8, 94th overall)
K – Shayne Graham (R12, 142nd overall)
DEF – Minnesota (R7, 75th overall)

My bench consists of Matt Schaub, Ahman Green, Todd Heap, Shaun McDonald and Antonio Bryant.

So, since this is my blog and I can do what I want with it (ha-ha), if anyone wants to share their thoughts on my squad…go for it.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

6 Responses to “What’s Your Fantasy?”

  1. Rafi Says:

    Seems like a good team for a 12-team league. I’d be interested in a league if you could get enough interest…any chance you could get a live draft? That would be pretty sweet.

  2. pat Says:

    Id say start shaub over hasselback. Houston has a very good young receiver corps with johnson and davis. If andre johnson can stay healthy for the whole season he will be in contention for top receiver in the league. Also take into consideration that the houston defense isnt that great (but decent) and they play is a pretty good division with peyton and jax. All this would lead to playing from behind alot which means LOTS of pass attempts. That and i dont like hasselback in fantasy.

  3. Rafi Says:

    I just realized that you took a DEF in round 7, what’s up with that?

  4. pat Says:

    minnesota had the best defensive front four for thw entire regular season last year. They were nu.ber 1 in shutting down the run. This offseason they went and added the nfl sack leader from last year whos is the prime of his career. More qb pressure = more sacks and more interceptions. Also very lucrative (if ur league gives points for RET yards and attributes them to the defense) is the prospect of AP returning kicks, something he did sparingly but very effectively last season.

  5. thunderbaseball Says:

    We have points for return TD’s, but not yards. Felt like for the amount of points they were going to get me every week, it was worth the risk of taking them a round or two early. I’ve had a few good defenses help carry me to the playoffs in the past…the Bears a few years back was a great example of that.

  6. pat Says:

    especially because at that point in your draft ud get more points out of an elite defense than a 2nd or 3rd tier tight end ( as evidenced by owen daniels taken in the next round) He’s a sleeper candidate in my eyes bc I think shaub is going to have a good fantasy year.

Leave a Reply

