Gardner Wins James P. Dawson Award

(PR) The Yankees today announced that outfielder Brett Gardner is the recipient of the 2009 James P. Dawson Award, given annually to the outstanding Yankees rookie in spring training. Gardner will receive the award in a pre-game ceremony on Wednesday, prior to the Yankees’ 1:15 p.m. game vs. the Philadelphia Phillies at George M. Steinbrenner Field.

Gardner, 25, is batting .390 (23-for-59) in 24 games this spring, with 2 doubles, 2 triples, 3 home runs and 7RBI. He is leading the team in hits and stolen bases (5), while tying for the team lead in home runs. A third-round pick by the Yankees in the 2005 First-Year Player Draft, Gardner hit .228 (29-for-127) with 5 doubles, 2 triples, 16RBI and 13SB in 42 games with the Yankees in 2008 in his Major League debut.

The award was established in honor of James P. Dawson (1896-1953), who began a 45-year career with The New York Times as a copy boy in 1908. Eight years later, he became boxing editor and covered boxing and baseball until his death during spring training in 1953.

Two winners of the honor, Tony Kubek in 1957 and Tom Tresh in 1962, went on to win the American League “Rookie of the Year” Award. Last season’s winner was infielder/outfielder Shelley Duncan. The award first was presented to rookie Norm Siebern by Manager Casey Stengel in St. Petersburg, Fla., at the conclusion of spring training in 1956. New York Yankees beat writers vote on the winner.

In conjunction with the award, Gardner will receive an engraved Tissot watch from William Barthman Jewelers.

Previous winners:

· 1956…Norm Siebern OF

· 1957…Tony Kubek SS

· 1958…John Blanchard C

· 1959…Gordon Windhorn OF

· 1960… John James P

· 1961…Roland Sheldon P

· 1962…Tom Tresh SS

· 1963…Pedro Gonzalez 2B

· 1964…Pete Mikkelsen P

· 1965…Arturo Lopez OF

· 1966…Roy White OF

· 1967…Bill Robinson OF

· 1968…Mike Ferraro 3B

· 1969…Jerry Kenney OF/Bill Burbach P

· 1970…John Ellis 1b-C

· 1971…None Selected

· 1972…Rusty Torres OF

· 1973…Otto Velez OF

· 1974…Tom Buskey P

· 1975…Tippy Martinez P

· 1976…Willie Randolph 2B

· 1977…George Zeber INF

· 1978…Jim Beattie P

· 1979…Paul Mirabella P

· 1980…Mike Griffin P

· 1981…Gene Nelson P

· 1982…Andre Robertson SS

· 1983…Don Mattingly 1B/OF

· 1984…Jose Rijo P

· 1985…Scott Bradey C

· 1986…Bob Tewksbury P

· 1987…Kevin Hughes OF

· 1988…Al Leiter P

· 1989…None Selected

· 1990…Alan Mills P

· 1991…Hensley Muelens OF

· 1992…Gerald Williams OF

· 1993…Mike Humphreys OF

· 1994…Sterling Hitchcock P

· 1995…None Selected

· 1996…Mark Hutton P

· 1997…Jorge Posada C

· 1998…Homer Bush INF

· 1999…None Selected

· 2000…None Selected

· 2001…Alfonso Soriano 2B

· 2002…Nick Johnson 1B

· 2003…Hideki Matsui OF

· 2004…Bubba Crosby OF

· 2005…Andy Phillips INF

· 2006…Eric Duncan INF

· 2007…Kei Igawa P

· 2008…Shelley Duncan INF/OF

· 2009…Brett Gardner OF


3 Responses to “Gardner Wins James P. Dawson Award”

  1. jim Says:

    i hope he doesn’t end up like the last 5 winners of this award

  2. David Mac Says:

    Note the names of interest to locals…Scott Bradley & Mike Griffin

  3. mbn007 Says:

    Jim is correct. Since 2004, this has been almost a “death knock” for your Yankee career.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: