Franklin Excited For Chance To Manage Jeter

Having been in professional baseball in one way or another since 1970, there isn’t a lot that 61-year-old Trenton Thunder manager Tony Franklin hasn’t done.

After Saturday, he’ll be able to scratch “manage Derek Jeter” off the list as well.  Well, sort of…

“It’s not so much that I’m managing him, I’m just going to write his name in and he’s going to go out there and play,” said the popular fifth-year skipper with a laugh.

“I don’t think he needs to be managed.  We can make history, I can probably make him bunt and people will come in and ask me if I made him bunt.  (Laughs) Yes, I did.”

But all joking aside, while Franklin has had such high profile rehab assignments during his tenure as Roger Clemens, Andy Pettitte and Phil Hughes, he’s still thrilled about having Derek Jeter in his clubhouse.

“It’s exciting for me,” Franklin said.

“I’m as much of a fan of baseball as anyone.  I got an opportunity to go to Yankee Stadium in ’09 to see him play, and that was pretty good.  It was like, ‘I got a chance to see Derek play.’  I think my focus will be on the game, but it’s going to be great to have him here.  It’s always great to have those guys here.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

Leave a Reply

