Adams Ready To Put Best Foot Forward

It feels like forever ago that David Adams was in a Trenton Thunder uniform.  Really, it’s only been two seasons, but surely it’s felt longer than that to the 24-year-old second baseman.

Adams had a knack for hitting wherever he went, and he didn’t disappoint with the Thunder early on.  He played in 37 games through the first six weeks of the season and hit .309 in 173 plate appearances, posting a .900 OPS along the way. 

And then he got hurt. 

Days turned into weeks.  Weeks turned into months.  Short of a 29 game stint between two lower level Yankees farm teams last season, months turned into the better part of two wasted seasons for Adams, who never seemed to fully recover from a fractured ankle.

“When he got hurt, he was having a heck of a year,” said Trenton Thunder manager Tony Franklin.  “In my opinion, I think he was on his way to the big leagues.  That’s the kind of season he was having.  If he can do that again, we still have a Major League player.”

For now, however, Adams returns to Trenton to hone his craft.

“It’s been a long road, almost two years now,” he said.  “But I’m ready to get back at it.  It’s been long.”

The recovery process, the Margate, Fla. native says, has allowed him to gain a much better perspective on how fortunate he is to be able to play at all.

“I think when something like that happens, it allows you to take a step back and just have a bigger appreciation for what you do.  I think sometimes, us as baseball players, we take things for granted.  I think that’s one thing I probably won’t do as much now.  I’m just going to go out, have fun and enjoy what I do.  Every day, I see my name in the lineup, I’m going to give it everything I’ve got.  That’s for sure.”

Adams has never been a guy who’s had much to say.  He lets his bat do the talking, for the most part. 

“I’m just anxious to play, that’s the bottom line,” Adams said. 

And he should get plenty of playing time if his ankle holds up, which will cetainly be one of the key storylines to follow with this year’s team.

“There’s day when it’s stiff, but ultimately if I just listen to my body…it’s felt great the last month I’ve been out there in the field,” he said.  “So, some days it won’t.  And I’ve just got to be smart on those days.  Honestly, (the goal this year) is just to stay healthy.  There’s always room to improve with baseball skills, but if I can just stay healthy I feel like good things can happen.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com // Twitter: Mashmore98

One Response to “Adams Ready To Put Best Foot Forward”

  1. Game 1: Pre-Game Notes « Mike Ashmore’s Thunder Thoughts Says:

    […] ** ** Heyer Finally A Starter To Begin Season ** ** Romanski Slotted For Trenton Rotation ** ** Adams Ready To Put Best Foot Forward ** ** Whitley Looking To Build Off First Full Season ** ** Meet The 2012 Thunder: Starting Pitchers […]

Leave a Reply

