Game 115: Post-Game Notes

— Not a whole lot to really say after that one, which is a good thing considering there’s a day game coming up.  So, here are some quotes from Dellin Betances and Tony Franklin after Betances’ start in Trenton’s 4-3 win over Reading on Tuesday night.

BETANCES

“One of the big things was to get the curveball over, last game it wasn’t working for me.  It was one of those things where I was trying to get a good feel for it and I got it going pretty good.”

“I feel good.  I’ve been here for a whole month and a couple weeks already, and I feel like I’ve gotten a lot better and I feel like I’m where I need to be.  I was happy with that changeup I threw to Ruf, and I kind of felt like I was going to get it going, but I got taken out.  But I know next game it’ll be there for me.”

“I feel like for me, it’s all about confidence.  (Nardi Contreras) and Tommy (Phelps) have helped me a lot…I feel like for me, it’s taking the stuff from the bullpen into the game.  I feel like I’m doing a better job at that.  I’ve just got to keep working and try to get better with those things.”

“I feel good.  I feel like I’ve thrown a lot of strikes every time out.  Last game, my curveball wasn’t there, which led to more walks.  Other than that, for me to be able to throw a 3-1 changeup, I feel like that’s where my confidence needs to be.  I feel good, it’s just a matter of going out there and having fun with it.”

“They put some good at-bats (together).  They fouled off a lot of pitches with two strikes, and I think that’s why my pitch count was a little up (93 in 5 innings).  This team, they hit mistakes.  When I left the ball over the plate, they got a hit.  Other than that, I felt like I could have kept going.  Maybe I threw too many pitches there, but it seemed like they fouled a lot of pitches with two strikes, but I felt good considering I threw more strikes than balls.  Obviously as a starter, you want to go deeper into games.  I feel like I’ve done that a lot here except for a couple starts.  But I’m happy with the strike ratio.”

“I’m ready to do whatever they tell me.  Whatever they want me to do, but I feel like I’m ready to go back up.  I feel confident.  My changeup, I was happy with that last one.  And my curveball is good.  So it’s just a matter of being consistent and trying to do it every time out.  I feel like I’m ready, but it’s not my decision.  Whatever they want me to do, I’ve been doing it for quite some time now, so hopefully things will work out.”

FRANKLIN

“Dellin’s been coming on quite well.  I don’t put a whole lot of stock into wins and losses and that kind of thing.  What I look for is improvement each outing, and try to find something really good in each outing.  And I think he’s getting good with his delivery…which will allow him to throw more quality pitches and throw more strikes.  I’m pretty pleased with the way he’s coming on.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

One Response to “Game 115: Post-Game Notes”

  1. Dealin Dellin Says:

    Mike,

    Really, really good stuff. I was at the game tonight and other than some line drives and a couple of curves he couldn’t finish, he looked sharp. I was right behind the plate for the Ruf punchout on the change, and can’t remember who it was, but he went up and in on a rising, exploding fastball that twisted up whatever LHB he was facing.Great to see him changing eye levels and getting those hapless swings on not only the curve but on that heater above the letters.

    Thanks for a great job per usual.

Leave a Reply

