Game 127: Post-Game Notes

— What an interesting past two games its been for Kevin Mahoney.  On Saturday night, the Thunder rallied from behind to load the bases with two outs for Mahoney, who struck out.  On Sunday, well…there really wasn’t a hero, but if it was anyone, it was Mahoney, who was hitting when Baysox reliever Robert Hinton’s pitch clanked off of Caleb Joseph’s glove and to the backstop, scoring David Adams as the game-winning run.

It was a different inning (the eighth instead of the ninth) but more or less the exact same scenario: Two outs, bases loaded, game on the line.

“Yesterday, their guy threw a really good pitch that was different from what I was expecting or what I’d seen,” Mahoney said.

“He got me, hats off to him. Tonight, it’s nice that I went up there and (the passed ball) takes the pressure off a little bit. But it sucks at the same time, because you want to get the game-winning hit. But this win was huge for us.”

Mahoney also did his damndest to try to shut Bowie down defensively in the ninth as well.  He went over the third base dugout railing to attempt to make a catch on a pop-up, with the ball slipping out of the webbing of his glove at the last second.

“I was more than willing to go into the dugout, which I pretty much did,” Mahoney said.  “I was hanging up there for a second, and I had it in my web and I knew it was going to go in my web.  But I started falling, and it hit my palm and snuck out.”

Thankfully, Mahoney wasn’t injured on the play, thanks in large part, he says, to the kindness of the opposition.  In a one-run game.  In the ninth.

“I made sure I said thank you to those guys, because that was unbelievable that they caught me so I didn’t break my neck or anything,” he said.

“I’m really appreciative of that, because that takes a real class team to pick you up like that.  Hats off to those guys, that was very nice.”

— Mikey O’Brien struggles early in outings.  I know it, you know it, he knows it.  Tonight was no different, as the 22-year-old righty coughed up three runs in the first two innings.  But, while still needing 105 pitches to do it, he was able to get through five innings and limit the damage to just those three runs.

“I’ve been having a little trouble (early on) in my past few games,” O’Brien said.

“I’ve been trying in the bullpen to simulate a first inning in there before actually getting in the game. I’m just not executing my pitches when I need to early on.  They’ve got a great hitting team, and they were making me pay for it…I was trying to keep the damage to a minimum.  Luckily, I was able to get out of there for three runs in five innings.  I had to battle, but as long as I’m keeping my team in the game, keep us in it and try to get win out of it, that’s all that really matters.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

Leave a Reply

