Thunder To Face Aeros In Championship Series

The Akron Aeros came all the way back from a two games to none deficit to defeat the Bowie Baysox in their best-of-five series.  The Aeros won by a score of 5-2 tonight, and will host the Thunder for Game 1 on Tuesday night.

The Thunder have advanced to the championship series for the fourth time in franchise history…but also the fourth time in the last six seasons.  This is also the sixth time in the last eight seasons in which they’ve made the playoffs.

2007 marked the first time that the Thunder won a postseason series, no less a championship.  After defeating the Portland Sea Dogs, who knocked Trenton out in the first round the previous two years, the Thunder defeated the Aeros in four games to win their first Eastern League title.

One season later, Trenton again faced the Aeros after beating Portland, and again won in four games, with the clincher taking place at Waterfront Park. 

The Thunder suffered their only championship series loss just two seasons ago.  After sweeping the New Hampshire Fisher Cats, Trenton lost to the Altoona Curve in four games.  Andy Pettitte started one game in each of those series, and the only contest that the Thunder won in the championship series was the one he started.

Every single pitcher who has won a championship series game for the Thunder went on to play in the big leagues: Steven Jackson, Scott Patterson, Dan McCutchen, Eric Hacker, Anthony Claggett, Jeff Marquez and Andrew Brackman.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: