McAllister To The DL

Apparently, Zach McAllister has been placed on the disabled list. I love being at the ballpark all day, and finding out in my e-mail that something like that’s happened. Not really much point in covering a team if nobody’s going to tell you anything. I literally spoke to McAllister today…nothing…spoke to Tony Franklin…nothing…have been around team officials all day…nothing. I can just as easily cover the team from home if that’s the way it’s going to go.

McAllister didn’t come to the ballpark until 5:45 PM today. He walked in carrying a large brown envelope, which I’d assume had the results of something inside…MRI…X-Ray, who knows.  Could be a restaurant menu.

But something was up. And nobody said anything. I find out in my e-mail. I mean, come on.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

16 Responses to “McAllister To The DL”

  1. Stephen Says:

    No corresponding move yet I assume? Jason Stephens probably? Maybe a callup and Schmidt/Arias gets the start?

  2. thunderbaseball Says:

    Wont know until this lengthy atrocity is over.

  3. Thunder Fan Says:

    Maybe it’s not information for you to know? Or someone would have probably told you?

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Apparently Thunder Fan doesn’t have the concept of beat writer.

  5. Medchill homers in his fourth straight game | River Avenue Blues Says:

    […] McAllister has been placed on the disabled list, but I have no idea why. He pitched well in the Eastern League All Star Game just yesterday, so it […]

  6. greg Says:

    pretty low rent treatment of you…what gives? Did you ask anyone about it?

  7. thunderbaseball Says:

    I’ll just leave it as is. I shouldn’t have been as pissed as I was, and it shouldn’t have been handled on the other side as it was.

  8. Dunn promoted, McAllister disabled | River Avenue Blues Says:

    […] Ashmore also informs us that RHP Zack McAllister has been placed on the DL. He doesn’t have any real details, and his frustration over the flow of information is […]

  9. Minor Notes Says:

    […] don’t know much else but Mike Ashmore has the news. No idea what’s wrong with him but his velocity was down in his performance in the AA All Star […]

  10. Anonymous Says:

    Beat writer and blogger had different meanings I thought. I’m sure the Yankees had filled in everyone and anyone who needed to know right now. But at least now YOU know!! Not a big fan of the Thunder these days it sounds…

  11. thunderbaseball Says:

    I’m a beat writer who also has a blog. I’m not strictly a blogger. I hate the term blogger, actually. Has a negative connotation to it.

  12. Frequent Waterfront Parker Says:

    If this is a blog, then you are a blogger, like the term or not – and it appears as though the powers that be give you a lot of access – based on what I have read in the past. Its a shame to post such nasty words because someone didn’t inform you of something before it was truly necessary.

    I guess you got your feelings hurt – maybe you should leave them out of it!

  13. thunderbaseball Says:

    All I’ll say is that if you did this, you’d have a better understanding of why people were upset about it…and yes, I could have handled it better.

  14. Medic Says:

    Actually medical info is privacy protected by HIPAA. Technically they are not suppose to tell you anything in regards to an injury. I understand that news is what you rely on, but a players specific injury details is none of your business. Believe me, I am sure the organization and staff know exactly what is going on, but they are not going to tell the media.

  15. David McD Says:

    Just to clarify – as someone who covered the Thunder off and on for 14 years, I can assure you that Mike is a legitimate beat writer – not just because he works for a newspaper but because he writes a well-respected blog that is read by fans, media and those working in major and minor league baseball. That said, I should also add that no one else working that game got the news ahead of Mike – everyone got the release e-mailed to them at the same time.

    As far as HIPAA, there is a difference between disclosing medical details and denying that there is anything wrong. You can say a player is on the DL without going into detail…

    David McDonough

  16. thunderbaseball Says:

    Appreciate that a lot, Dave.

Leave a comment