Media Day: Christian Garcia

On how he feels coming into 2010: “Next question.  (Laughs) No, I feel good.”

On the frequency of being asked about his arm: “Oh man.  I think every five steps I take, I get the question about how I feel.  There’s a reason for it, I get hurt every time.  It comes with the territory.”

On the frustration of being injured while pitching well in 2009: “It was extremely frustrating, but you know, things happen.  You can’t control those things, just take them for what they’re worth and work hard when you’re coming back from surgery with rehab and stuff like that…work out your frustrations with that.  I think I can pick up right where I left off.  I feel really good, I threw really well in spring training.”

On thinking about his injuries: “I don’t ever think about it.  If it’s going to happen, it’s going to happen and there’s nothing you can do about it.  I just go out there and pitch.  No matter if it’s hurting or not hurting, I’ve got to throw.  I’m always going to have aches and pains a year coming out of surgery.  I’ve got to learn the difference between pain and soreness.”

On his 40-man roster status: “Being on the 40-man always gives you a better opportunity to get called up, you’re one phone call away.  I’m very grateful and thankful that they did (keep me on), it means a lot to me that they still left me on.  I’m sure any other team probably would have dropped me, but the fact that they have a lot of belief in me, that means a lot to me.  It shows what kind of organization they are.  They’re a first-class organization, and they don’t give up on you when you’re down.  Mentally, it’s a big support.  It definitely went through my mind, I thought it was possible…I hoped they didn’t, but I was glad they didn’t.  I’ve been hurt a couple times already, but I was glad they didn’t.”

On his excitement to get back out there: “It’s kind of hard seeing your friends out there.  You want to play with them, you want to be with your teammates.  There’s nothing better than being out here.  We’re not where we’re from, but this is a great town, a great city and we’re out here with a bunch of friends playing a game that we love and we’d play for free.  It’s amazing, it doesn’t get any better than this.”

On being the Opening Day starter: “I’m very excited.  It’s an honor for them to pick me.  We have an amazing team, this is one of the better team’s I’ve played on.  It’s going to be a lot of fun.  I’ll probably be at 80-85 pitches.  This is actually the first time I’ve ever broken camp in six years.  All injuries.  I’m going put a bubble wrap around me, have my teammates carry me around (laughs).”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

2 Responses to “Media Day: Christian Garcia”

  1. thunderfangabe Says:

    Good quotes from CG. Nice, Mike.

  2. kinglear Says:

    Kick ***, Garcia. & stay healthy this year. We’re all rooting for you!

    Thx for all the interviews, Mike!

Leave a comment