Media Day: Grant Duff

On if going to Scranton for the playoffs gave him expectations of starting 2010 there: “Expecting, not really.  I thought there was a chance, yeah.  I knew that I was only here since July 7th, so that doesn’t really merit…I think I pitched well here, but I didn’t think I deserved to go up there more than anyone who’s up there right now, you know.  Obviously, you want to go there.  Nothing against Trenton, I love it here, I’m happy being here.”

On the jump he made in prospect status last year: “I think I opened some eyes with what happened last year, just me figuring my mechanics out and becoming a better pitcher.  The Yankees realized the potential I had.  I think that I was on the verge of being released last year at the beginning of the year.  Then, something clicked with my mechanics to make me a better pitcher, and everything got better; from velocity, to command to offspeed pitches, everything got better.”

On carrying the momentum from last year into 2010: “For me personally, it’s more of a confidence thing.  I was struggling was confidence at the beginning of last year because I was in High-A at 26 years old.  I didn’t know what they thought about me, but then something clicked and I started getting better.  When you pitch with confidence, you’re a better pitcher.  I felt that as far as momentum wise, I could go out there and not do well, but I know I’ll have confidence because I know what level I’m able to pitch to.  So maybe it doesn’t affect me as much because of the success I had, and that I saw what I was able to do.  I know what I have to do to get there now.”

On his goals for 2010: “I’d say my goal this season is to get up there (big leagues).  I think that if I pitch well and am given the opportunity…but if I pitch well, and everyone pitches well, I might not end up going anywhere.  But my first goal is to get to Triple-A, pitch well there, and hopefully earn an opportunity to pitch in the big leagues.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

One Response to “Media Day: Grant Duff”

  1. Janet Gomes Says:

    Grant,

    I know you will get there! Keep up the good work.

    Love you,

    Aunt Janet

Leave a comment