Exclusive Q&A With Yankees GM Brian Cashman

So, here’s most of the story of how I landed the Brian Cashman interview in Trenton tonight. I happened to be making a lap around the stadium out of boredom when I noticed someone who looked like Cashman sitting on one of the benches outside of the ballpark. Sure enough, it was him…and he recognized me and we started talking. I asked him if he was going to be available to the media at all, and he said now was the best time. While I had no questions prepared at the time, the always gracious general manager of the New York Yankees sat down on a bench and spoke about all sorts of topics for about five minutes.

About what, you ask?

Well…

Mike Ashmore: How pleased are you with the development your farm system as a whole has made so far this season?

Brian Cashman: “Well, like every year, some guys take steps forward and some guys get hurt and some guys take steps backwards. Every year is a new with new guys who emerge and some guys we get disappointed in. Then there are other guys where you’re like, ‘Damn, man. I wish he hadn’t got hurt.'”

Ashmore: At this time of the season, with the trade deadline approaching, is it interesting to you to see which of your own players are asked about potential trades? Does it give you a better idea of what other teams think about the players in your system?

Cashman: “Oh yeah. There’s always value in hearing who other clubs are asking for from you. Then obviously, the more certain names come up, it cements what you’re seeing or what you’re not seeing at the same time. Sometimes, you get a lot of questions about guys that maybe you don’t think as highly about, and it makes you re-focus on if you should change your position. But that’s unusual for that to happen. But there’s power in all that information.”

Ashmore: Is it pretty much the usual suspects that people are asking about?

Cashman: “I think some people know not to ask anymore on certain guys.”

Ashmore: I remember you once told me that no one is untouchable. Is that still the case?

Cashman: “Realistically, there are guys that are untouchable for me. But I’ve got bosses, so.”

Ashmore: Has anyone in particular really impressed you one way or the other this season?

Cashman: “Probably, but I’d have to think through it. I’d have to have my board up and stuff…”

Ashmore: Anyone who’s come out of nowhere to make a name for themselves then?

Cashman: “I wouldn’t say Zoilo Almonte’s come out of nowhere, because he’s always had the physical tools, but he’s putting it all together now just like Melky Mesa did last year. We’ve got a lot of guys at the lower levels that are making a name for themselves. (J.R.) Murphy, the catcher at Charleston and now Tampa, he’s proven that he can be a catcher. We always knew he was going to hit, but he’s proven he can catch.”

Ashmore: How has Montero progressed in that regard?

Cashman: “Catching wise, he’s come a long way. No doubt about it. Offensively, he hasn’t had the year that he’s capable of or put up typically. But catching wise, he has improved significantly in the last year and from the previous year. He’s gotten better each season.”

Ashmore: Is Romine progressing well for you?

Cashman: “Great progress. Defensively, he doesn’t necessarily need progress. Offensively is where he needs more developmental at-bats, and he’s taken advantage of it here.”

Ashmore: I know the organization has been pretty high on Brandon Laird, and with his call-up today, I wanted to get your thoughts on him…

Cashman: “I’m glad he’s put himself in the position. This isn’t April. If this was April, I don’t know if this is the way we’d go. But the way he’s played, we have a need, you have no problem making the move. We lost Pena, that stinks. But I’ve got Laird, I’ll bring Laird up. He’s not a middle infielder, but he’s a corner guy…the organizational depth still allows us to do certain things, so that’s a good thing. Rather than looking to your left and your right and it’s what am I doing, I’ve got nowhere to go. I have places to go, which is good.”

Ashmore: I know you’re here to see Betances, so I won’t ask you about him…but Manny Banuelos, has his season been a little disappointing to you in any way?

Cashman: “I wouldn’t say disappointing at all, because the stuff is the stuff. It’s just the walk totals need to come down, that’s all. But he’s a kid. What he’s doing at this age is spectacular. So that’s why, just like Montero…he’s a kid at Triple-A and he’s 21 and going on 22 right now, most people would be killing to put the numbers up that he is at that level or has done at that level if you combine last year too. So you can’t forget about the age level that these two guys are. Manny’s got great stuff, but there’s things he has to work on. His time for the big leagues isn’t yet. That’s why right now, he’ll need more developmental time to allow his game to catch up with his name.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

21 Responses to “Exclusive Q&A With Yankees GM Brian Cashman”

  1. Peter Lacock Says:

    Scoop Ashmore strikes again!
    You know what they say, better to be lucky than good.

    I would be interested to hear who Cash thinks of as untouchable. He wouldn’t say publicly but I’d guess Banuelos, Betances and Eduardo Nunez are on the list. If he thinks Montero is, his bosses must not. I’d guess he doesn’t though.

    My cash is on Cash signing a new Yankees contract this winter.

  2. Exclusive Q&A With Yankees GM Brian Cashman « Mike Ashmore's … | Yankees News Source Says:

    […] the rest here: Exclusive Q&A With Yankees GM Brian Cashman « Mike Ashmore's … AKPC_IDS += "26704,"; AKPC_IDS += […]

  3. Dealin Dellin Says:

    Great stuff & effort, as per usual Mike, but…

    “I won’t ask about Betances…” ?

    The fact that he was here to see the kid, & the fact that this name is constantly in the latest trade rumor for Ubaldo, it might have been a great opportunity to ask if the trip was an attempt to confirm something…or not…for himself.

    If you believe the mill, the “best arm in the system”, Betances, is a guy the Rockies are pushing for. I just would have liked to have heard, between the lines of course, if there was some intent there. I went to the park last night & expected to see Cashman there, FWIW. I wasn’t surprised when he showed up.

    As always, thanks for the videos. It’s great to get to see again some of what you just saw live.

    Personally, if they trade away any combination of Betances, Banuelos or Montero for UJ, I’ll conclude they’re painfully out of touch with their own needs going forward.

    I hope Cashman understands which fights to pick with his “bosses”. This is one of them, IMO.

  4. Dealin Dellin Says:

    Incidentally, per Betances, I would have liked to have seen them let him come out for the sixth. If he gets in trouble, you come and get him.

    He was at 93 pitches, but at that point he had gotten himself into a very nice rhythm, getting great downward movement & getting the swings & misses one expects from him. They need to let these kids push through once in a while, especially when they’re in a free & easy stretch as he was at the time.

    I don’t know if the big club just says “that’s it,” & they have no wiggle room away from the script? Sometimes a little intuition, & logic, is in order, IMO.

  5. Steve Henn Says:

    Nice job. Even better that you had 15 seconds to think of questions.

  6. cec Says:

    Good read as always.

  7. Art Vandelay Says:

    Mike, great job on your professionalism in getting this interview, unlike another supposed media member who just plopped himself down next to Cashman in the stands and started bending his ear. The guy has no idea of proper media behavior.

  8. Ashmore & Cashman | WasWatching.com Says:

    […] Ashmore had an Exclusive Q&A With Yankees GM Brian Cashman.  Great stuff, as always, from […]

  9. Ashmore Says:

    Nothing wrong with being lucky and good…

    And I wasn’t comfortable asking him about a player who he hadn’t seen since spring training. You could make an argument I could/should have asked, but I don’t think you’d ever see any sort of answer that would indicate that he was there for reasons related to the deadline…so that’s why I decided to pass on asking about Dellin.

  10. Dealin Dellin Says:

    Mike,

    Sure, that makes a certain amount of sense re asking Cash about Betances. With these guys, I guess, I’m used to trying to read between the lines and hear them deflect questions sometimes tells you something.

    I do wonder how big Cashman is on Betances. He sure was revved to draft him, as per that “Pop him now!!” story. I did overhear him bragging about how Dellin “works his a*** off” in admiration. Hopefully, that’s a sign he’s very high on him and won’t deal him.

  11. Mike Ashmore’s Q&A with Brian Cashman | River Avenue Blues Says:

    […] in Trenton last night while he watched Dellin Betances‘ start, and the GM was kind enough to answer a few questions. They spoke mostly about the farm system, specifically the value in seeing what other teams are […]

  12. ForeverTitans Says:

    Great stuff as always Mike. I love how cash seems like such a regular guy. Ran into him in Trenton and he couldn’t have been nicer to me and my son.

  13. Big B Says:

    As good as Betances’ stuff is right now, his ceiling is that of Jimenez’s, and he could just as easily end up like Daniel Cabrera. Montero, Betances, (injured) Nova and Nunez or Laird should do it.

  14. SteveB Says:

    Pride of the Yankees– “Brian Cashman on a Bench”

    Nice quick-thinking, Mike. I am now calling you “the intrepid Mike Ashmore” 😉

    …Regards.

  15. YankeesVine » Blog Archive » Post-3000th-Hit Letdown: Jeter Still Isn’t Hitting Says:

    […] Ashmore talked to Brian Cashman about trade rumors, Jesus Montero, Manny Banuelos and […]

  16. Mike Silva's New York Baseball Digest » Blog Archive » Nova the Answer, Learning from Bagwell, LA Cashman, I-95 Beltran Says:

    […] Cashman threw another subtle hint about his displeasure with his current situation during an interview with Mike Ashmore of the Hunterdon County Democrat: […]

  17. Dealin Dellin Says:

    There is NO chance Betances ends up like Cabrera.

  18. Rob Says:

    Luck is the residue of hard work. Your extra trip around the park created the luck.

  19. Anonymous Says:

    I say do like other clubs are doing and give the young guys a chance. If their makeup is so fragile, they won’t make it anyway. Remember Gehrig how he replaced Pipp. Maybe someone can pitch better than AJ. But money talks.

  20. Keri Says:

    Hello There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. Thaat is a very smarly
    written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to learn morte oof
    your useful information. Thank yyou for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  21. プロミス 増額 Says:

    プロミスの利用できる額をスグに増枠したいと思っている方へお伝えしたいことがあります。プロミスの増額は3つのの条件を満たしている必要があります。ぜひ当サイトにおこしください。

Leave a comment