Garcia: Elbow Injury

Here is what Christian Garcia had to say after the game:

“It was some soreness in the elbow.  It was pretty serious.”

“It was pretty much until the third inning, that’s when I started feeling it.  I felt it before, but the more I kept throwing, the more pain I’d get.”

“It was like a pinch.  Only my extension, when I’d extend my elbow.  It was a pinch type of thing, right on one spot.  When I was releasing the ball.”

“It’s kind of like the same pain I had before (when he missed the second half of last year).”

“Tomorrow, I have no idea what we’re going to do.  Tim (Lentych) is making calls, I guess you can ask him.  I have no idea what we’re doing.”

“I’m concerned, of course.  It just keeps happening.  It keeps reoccuring.  I don’t want to get too concerned, because it could be something not that serious, like a little scar tissue or something like that.”

“It was to the point where I was 1-2 on the guy, and the guy already took two bad swings.  If I could have thrown it, I would have thrown it.  I got to the point where I couldn’t throw my next pitch.”

“I had experienced a little something like that when I was in Tampa, where I’d throw three innings and I’d start gradually feeling it.  But it never got to the point where it did when I threw that last changeup.  It didn’t get to that point.  When it got to that point, I said I can’t.  I grabbed that ball, there was no shot I could throw it.”

17 Responses to “Garcia: Elbow Injury”

  1. kinglear Says:

    Thanks for the updates, Mike.

    Godspeed, Christian!

  2. goodluckgarcia Says:

    Yes, thanks for your efforts.

    Woe is me.

  3. Garcia’s injury casts a cloud over Opening Night | River Avenue Blues Says:

    […] fastball … he left the game in the middle of an at-bat with elbow soreness, and it’s pretty serious … sigh Wilkins Arias: 1.1 IP, zeroes, 2-2 GB/FB Noel Castillo: 1 IP, 0 H, 0 R, 0 ER, 1 BB, 1 […]

  4. Kevin M. Says:

    After everything he’s been through how could he be so stupid as to keep pitching after his elbow started bothering him. Who knows how much more damage that did to the elbow.

    Still you have to just feel awful for him. Get well soon Christian……we’re all still rooting for you.

  5. Why You Hoard Arms | WasWatching.com Says:

    […] say this as Mike Ashmore reports that Chris(tian) Garcia, the Yankees oft-tempting and tantalizing power pitching prospect, […]

  6. Walter K Says:

    Didn’t he also have elbow issues during spring training?

  7. Thunder Says:

    No he didn’t have any issues he pitched really well.

  8. Wrapping Up Opening Day… « Mike Ashmore’s Thunder Thoughts Says:

    […] Garcia Quotes […]

  9. Why does my left elbow hurt wen I do barbell bench press? Says:

    […] Garcia: Elbow Injury « Mike Ashmore’s Thunder Thoughts […]

  10. John Says:

    Please keep us updated throughout the day Mr. Ashmore.

  11. Garcia: Elbow Injury « Mike Ashmore's Thunder Thoughts Says:

    […] at 9:57 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own […]

  12. John Says:

    Any news on Garcia???

  13. Mike Silva's New York Baseball Digest » Blog Archive » Promising Career on the Brink Says:

    […] it seems to be even less as young hurlers are prone to various injuries. One such example is Yankees prospect Christian Garcia who suffered a setback last night when he left the game with elbow pain. Garcia was attempting to come back from elbow problems last […]

  14. It’s Still Groundhog’s Day for Christian Garcia | Baseball Bloggers Alliance Says:

    […] was some soreness in the elbow.  It was pretty serious,” Garcia said. “It’s kind of like the same pain I had before (referring to the season ending elbow problem he […]

  15. Everlast Mixed Martial Arts Punch / Kick Mitt | Martialartswarwick.com Says:

    […] Garcia: Elbow Injury « Mike Ashmore’s Thunder Thoughts […]

  16. Authentic Maha Pharma Says:

    […] Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma Maha Pharma […]

Leave a comment